More Info

The Concept of Awareness – Part Six

Satguru Bodhinatha Veylaswami gives an Part 6 of his upadesha series on the concept of awareness and omnipresence from the yogic perspective.

Here, Satguru presents many words from the meditative language of Shum. below are some definitions of some of the words he uses:

1) Individual awareness or perception, which differs from vast consciousness; 2) the observation of individual awareness; 3) individual awareness distinguished from impersonal consciousness; 4) the perception of being aware. 5) pronounced niif», though often pronounced and written simply as nif.

1) Connect together, join or bind; 2) in this area of the mind things or concepts are connected, joined or bound together; 3) the focus of individual awareness is simultaneously upon two or more areas of the mind at the same time.

1) Awareness flowing through the mind, being singularly aware of one area and then another; 2) niimf constantly changes its name to the name of the area it becomes conscious in while traveling, and is only called niimf when it is the thread of consciousness traveling or in between one of the names of awareness and another; 3) for instance, niimf when traveling through balikana (Seeing light by looking out upon and through the fourth dimension of the mind) is then called balikana, and when traveling through the experience of narehrehshum it is named that; 4) niimf can travel from the seventh to the fourth dimension; its home is in the fifth and fourth dimensions but it usually resides in the fourth looking at the third, in contrast to iif, which is the observation of awareness flowing only through the higher areas of mind; 5) awareness as psychic sight and hearing; 6) awareness traveling, while seeing with the inner eye and hearing with the inner ear, into and out of areas of the mind; 7) represented in mamsani maa» and mambashum maa» by a flowing line between portraits; 8) pronounced niimf, often pronounced and written simply as nimf.

1) Meditation, holding the vibration from one shumnuhm’ to another; 2) continuity between meditations; 3) after shumnuhm’, or any type of meditation practice, pilgrimage or temple puja, a vibration fills one and remains with one long after; this vibration, or current, or sidisi, is called nalif; 5) nalif should be held from meditation to meditation or puja to puja; 6) it can be likened to a phrase in music, each time the nalif vibration wears thin, we should reconstruct that area through shumnuhm’ (Guided group meditation in the Shum language), puja or another meditation; 7) nalif is generally held within the vibration of the kalingkasim kamshumalinga (5th chakra); 8) it is possible to go in consciousness into bivumbika (3rd chakra), rehmtyenali (4th chakra), tyemavumna (6th chakra) or kamakadiisareh (7th chakra) and not break the nalif, but getting into a detailed discussion or argument within rehnamtyevum (2nd chakra), or being remorseful or reminiscing the past in akaiilisimbi (1st chakra), would break the nalif; 9) it would then, with some effort, have to be reestablished; 10) nalif is especially necessary to those yogi tapasvins who hope to advance in their raja yoga on the Saiva path.

(meditation) 1) One of a special set of 12 simple mambashum that Gurudeva created, one for each month of the year; 2) a mini-drawing of Shum concepts; 3) a map to guide the meditator through various interrelated areas of the mind.

(yoga) 1) A drawing of Shum concepts describing inner states of mind; 2) a map to guide the meditator through various interrelated areas of the mind; 3) excellent for group as well as individual meditations.

1) Any of the chakras, which are nerve plexes or centers of force and consciousness within the inner bodies of man; 2) refers to all twenty-one chakras—the seven principal chakras, the seven chakras or nadis above the crown of the head and the seven chakras below the muladhara; 3) through transmutation, one unfolds through the seven principal kamshumalinga maa as awareness and kundalini break the seals of these force centers; 4) the kamshumalinga maa may also be understood as windows of mind or consciousness through which awareness looks out or in on the phenomenal world; each window has its own influence and coloring effect on the process of perception.

Bivumbika, rhemtyenali, kalingkasim, tyemavumna, kamakadiisareh
3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th chakras

2 Responses to “The Concept of Awareness – Part Six”

  1. Pethuraja says:


  2. Namrata Ragade says:

    Mahalo Satguru ! Aum Namasivaya

Leave a Comment

Archives are now available through 2001. Light colored days have no posts. 1998-2001 coming later.

Subscribe to RSS Feed