Dancing with Śiva

Homage to the source of health, and to the source of delight.
Homage to the maker of health and to the maker of delight.
Homage to the Auspicious and to the more Auspicious.
(Namastārāya namaḥ śambhave cha mayobhave cha, namaḥ śaṇkarāya cha mayaskarāya cha, namaḥ śivāya cha śivatarāya cha.)

Kṛishṇa Yajur Veda, Taittirīya Saṁhitā 4.5.8. yvk, 359
(Namaḥ Śivaya, at the center of the Vedas)

From all knowledge, yoga practice and meditation, all that relates to the Aum sound is to be meditated on as the only blissful (Śiva). Indeed, the Aum sound is Śiva.

Atharva Veda, Atharvaśikhā Upanishad 2. UPB, 782

Mantra yields early success due to practice done in previous life. Self-fulfilling, too, is the mantra which is received according to the line of tradition, with due dīkshā, obtained in the right way. Innumerable are the mantras; they but distract the mind. Only that mantra which is received through the grace of the guru gives all fulfillment.

Kulārṇava Tantra 11.3. KT, 112

Japa is the happy giver of enjoyment, salvation, self-fulfilling wish. Therefore, practice the yoga of japa and dhyāna. All blemishes due to transgressions of rule, from the jīva up to the Brahman, done knowingly or unknowingly, are wiped away by japa.

Kulārṇava Tantra 11.1. KT, 111

There are two ways of contemplation of Brahman: in sound and in silence. By sound we go to silence. The sound of Brahman is Aum. With Aum we go to the End, the silence of Brahman. The End is immortality, union and peace. Even as a spider reaches the liberty of space by means of its own thread, the man of contemplation by means of Aum reaches freedom. The sound of Brahman is Aum. At the end of Aum is silence. It is a silence of joy. It is the end of the journey, where fear and sorrow are no more: steady, motionless, never-falling, everlasting, immortal. It is called the omnipresent Vishṇu. In order to reach the Highest, consider, in adoration, the sound and the silence of Brahman. For it has been said: “God is sound and silence. His name is Aum. Attain, therefore, contemplation, contemplation in silence on Him.

Kṛishṇa Yajur Veda, Maitrī Upanishad 6.22-23. UPM, 102

The bank of a river, the cave, the summit of a hill, the place of holy bath, the confluence of rivers, the holy forest, the vacant garden, the root of the bilva tree, the slope of the hill, the temple, the coast of the sea, one’s own house—these are the places lauded for the sādhana of mantra japa.

Kulārṇava Tantra 11.4. KT, 112

Letters five are the Lord’s gift. Centered in them, He dances, night and day, in endearment eternal, He that assumed forms eight. Realize the truth of blissful Letters Five; the transcendent Reality fills your heart, immortal you will be. Pañchākshara is your refuge, none other, I emphatically say.

Tirumantiram 974, 980. TM

Thinking of Him, great love welling up in their heart, if they finger the rudrāksha beads, it will bring them the glory of the Gods. Chant our naked Lord’s name. Say, “Namaḥ Śivāya!”

Tirumurai 3.307.3. PS, 217

The mystic expression “Namaḥ Śivāya” is the sacred name of Lord Śiva, is the sum and substance of the four Vedas and conveys in the sacred path souls which are full of devotion and do utter it with a melting heart and tears trickling from their eyes.

Tirumurai 3.307.1. TT, 61

The Lord of Appati is both inside and outside, form and no form. He is both the flood and the bank. He is the broad-rayed sun. Himself the highest mystery, He is in all hidden thoughts. He is thought and meaning, and embraces all who embrace Him.

Tirumurai 4.48.7. PS, 114

Let not the effect of past deeds rise in quick succession and overpower you. Chant the Pañchākshara—the mantra of the five letters.

Yogaswami, Grace Ambrosia 5. SY, 407

Through the Letters Five, all sorrow was erased. Through the Letters Five, all want has disappeared. Through the Letters Five, true happiness arose. Within the Letters Five I stayed contained. Through the Letters Five can God’s holy feet be seen. Through the Letters Five, the whole world you can rule. Through the Letters Five, mind’s action can be stilled. The Letters Five have come and entered my heart.

Natchintanai, “Adoration…” NT, 224